The Brownlow medal count held on Sunday night to be virtual

“In the current environment, it is incredibly difficult to bring people together in a responsible way in the indoor event space, and the safety of the community is paramount in every decision we make.

“While the glamor of the red carpet will be missed this year, we look forward to providing a special format created specifically for broadcast viewers sitting at home, so that our fans can continue to celebrate their heroes and their achievements this year.”

The countdown will again be broadcast by Channel Seven

“While this year’s Brownlow Medal broadcast will be different, the reputation of the most prestigious personal awards in counting dramas and games will not change. Truly it was a magical night and all the excitement, drama and passion among the fans sitting at home as we were crowned the best and best player of the year. There is still a long way to go, ”said Lewis Martin, managing director of Seven Melbourne.

Receiving the first prize in 1924, this year marks the 50th anniversary of the first televised Brownlow count, where Peter Bedford of South Melbourne won. Brownlow has long been held in Melbourne since 1999 as a “night of football”, a year that was held at Sydney’s Hordron Pavilion.

For the best part of the last 25 years, the Brownlow function has been held in the Palladium Room of Crown Casino. While each club’s team usually plays in the grand finale, Victorian team players play in that week’s grand final, meaning some of the main winners, including 2001’s Brisbane’s Jason Akharmanis – claim the Browns are away from the main chamber, with extra spare medals in hand.

Brisbane Lions star Lachi Neel is a low-cost favorite to claim this year’s award. Port Adelaide Veteran Travis Bok is another of the hot tips.

Leave a Comment