/How to factory reset MacBook Pro before selling or giving away

How to factory reset MacBook Pro before selling or giving away

If you are ready to sell or remove your existing Mac notebook or delete it for any other reason, you may want to do something more besides wiping the hard drive. Read about how to do a factory reset of your MacBook Pro and reinstall a new copy of MacOS.

Before you reset your MacBook Pro to factory, make sure you have a current backup. On Macs running MacOS Mozave and before, you’ll want to de-populate your Mac on iTunes. Navigate to Account menu → Authorization কম্পিউটার Approve this computer.

And you’ll want to sign out of iCloud, iMessage and FaceTime. System Preferences: Signing out of any other account under Internet Accounts also doesn’t hurt. If you are giving your MacBook Pro to someone in your family, you may also want to add any Bluetooth device.

And if you plan to sell a MacBook with a butterfly keyboard of your own, it’s probably a good idea to replace it for free if you don’t already have one.

How to factory reset macbook pro

  1. Make a current backup of your Mac
  2. Sign out of Max Mozave and his previous iTunes (Account → Approval দিন Approve this computer)
  3. Sign out of iCloud (System Preferences> Apple ID> Overview> Sign out)
  4. Sign out from Images and FaceTime (in each app’s preferences)
  5. Reset NVRM (see below for details of steps 5-8)
  6. Start recovering macos
  7. Delete your startup disk
  8. Reinstall a new copy of MacOS

Reset NVRAM

In a support document, Apple notes that resetting NVRAM is important because it deletes user settings and restores security defaults. Here’s how to do it:

Turn off your Mac, then turn it on and instantly press and hold these four keys together: Options, Command, P and R. Release the keys after about 20 seconds.

Start recovering macos

MacOS Recovery will install a different version of MacOS depending on what combination you use when you start your Mac (no external drive will require an installation disk or MacOS). Once you get your Mac, hold down a key combination just below and let go when you see the Globe or Apple logo.

  • (R (Command R) = Reinstall the latest MacOS installed on your Mac without upgrading to the next version.
  • (R (option command R) = Upgrade to the latest MacOS compatible with your Mac

Apple stated on its support page that “If you are selling OS XL Captain or a previously used Mac or use the option-command-r to make sure the installation is not related to your Apple ID.” “It installs the latest available software.

For this walkthrough, I used ⌥⌘R, which will use MacOS Recovery on the Internet and reinstall the latest MacOS version (this option requires a Wi-Fi connection).

Depending on your internet connection, the load time for macus recovery will vary. When the process is complete you will see the MacOS Utilities window.

Delete your startup disk (hard drive / solid state drive)

  1. Click Disk Utility in the Utility window, then click Continue.
  2. Select your startup disk in the sidebar of Disk Utility (click the top item like Apple SSD as shown in the image below, not the name of the volume, Macintosh HD)
  3. Click Erase at the top of the Utility window (if you can’t see or select the delete, click the volume name below the disk name (Macintosh HD, then try again)
  4. Enter a name for the disk (Macintosh HD default on a new Mac), use Mac OS Extended (Journaled) for formatting, and use the GID partition map for the scheme
  5. Click Delete (once completed, click Exit Disk Utility to return to the Disk Utility → Max Utility window in the menu bar)

Reinstall the MacBook and factory reset the MacBook Pro

  1. Back to the original MacOS utility window, click Reinstall MacOS
  2. Follow the prompts and select which disk you want to choose to install MacOS (if you have multiple drives)
  3. If you are using a Mac notebook, plug in your power cable
  4. Click Install
  5. If you have SSD, if you see the 10% minute installation estimate, you are more likely to have HDD
  6. When the installation is complete you will see a welcome screen with a region selector. If you have a Mac, continue the setup process. If you are selling or offering your Mac to someone else, use the keyboard shortcut useQ to strengthen your Mac to leave the setup assistant.

Read 9 more 5 Mac tutorials:

FTC: We use revenue generating automated links. More.

Check out 9to5Mac on YouTube for more Apple news:

(Embed) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pRdrpIDgjGo (/ embed)