Google Contacts will soon have fairly standard “trash” features like Gmail, Photos and Android. Available on the web, it results in a two-step process for deleting contacts.
Trash makes it easy for users to recover accidentally deleted contacts.
When you delete a contact, it will be trashed first. Contacts will be permanently removed after 30 days, but until then users will be able to view and “recover” all details. It also has the ability to “delete forever” at any time.
The folder will appear under “Other Contacts” on the web sidebar. Google notes that “Trash will have deleted contacts on any device – web, Android, iOS and more, but you can only view and manage trash on the web.”
It is now being published in Contacts.com and is fully available for personal and G Suite accounts for the next two weeks.
- Administrators: There is no administrator control for this feature.
- End users: This feature will be turned on by default. When you go to Google Contacts on the web, look for it in the left-hand menu (edit.com). Trash view is not yet available in Google Contacts apps for mobile devices. Visit the Help Center to learn more about using Google Contacts.
More about Google Contacts:
FTC: We use revenue generating automated links. More.
Check out 9to5Google on YouTube for more news:
(Embed) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2hAizeovjYM (/ embed)